A DisilgoldSOUL Magazine “Get PerSOULnal” Interview with Latrese N. Carter, author of HOT NEW BOOK FROM Q-BORO, “Liar! Liar”- The Summer Hit of the Season!

For Immediate Release: Latrese N. Carter’s Summer Sizzler,”Liar, Liar” is Heating up the Literary World!

DISILGOLDSOUL MAGAZINE PRESENTS THE GET PERSOULNAL INTERVIEW WITH LATRESE N. CARTER, AUTHOR OF LIAR, LIAR!

Interviewed by Heather “The Literary HEAT” Covington
www.Disilgold.com
Author:  Latrese N. Carter
Title: Liar, Liar
Web site:
www.latresencarter.com
Email: latrese@latresencarter.com

Disilgold: What can you tell the Disilgold community about yourself that will explain why Disilgold has sought you for a perSOULnalized interview? 

Latrese: I am a debut novelist and my novel, Liar, Liar was released on June 5, 2007 with Q-Boro Books.

Disilgold: What is your latest book about?

Latrese: Liar, Liar is the story of a young woman, Stormy Knight, who has endured many hardships in previous relationships, but just as she is about to give up on love, she is reacquainted with a childhood friend, Camden Brooks.

After months of dating, Camden proposes to Stormy, but just as they are about to wed, Stormy is hit with the revelation that Camden lives an alternative lifestyle.

Months after the wedding is called off, Stormy is informed that Camden has been delivered from the demons that made him unfit for marriage. Believing in Camden’s transformation, Stormy marries him hoping to start a wonderful, married life.

What Stormy later learns is that Camden hasn’t changed at all and to add fuel to the fire, he has a scorned ex-lover who isn’t willing to let Camden go.

Disilgold: OH MY! Now that is one hot story plot. How long did it take you to complete your book?

Latrese: Three months.

Disilgold: What were the happiest moments you have experienced while writing your latest book?

Latrese: The positive feedback I received from those who read the early versions of Liar, Liar.  Initially, I doubted myself as a writer, but the feedback encouraged me to keep writing.

Disilgold: Describe your writing style?

Latrese:I usually describe myself as a meticulous planner because I plan the whole plot of a story or novel from the beginning to the end.

Disilgold: How did you develop your writing style?

Latrese: This is the style I’ve always used—since high school.  I have no idea where it came from, but it has stuck with me.

Disilgold: Do you have a favorite author of all time or someone who inspired you to achieve your goals as a writer?

Latrese:I have always enjoyed writing, but was inspired to pen my first novel by Author Candice Dow, a high school and college mate.

Disilgold: Where do you see yourself as a writer ten years from now?

Latrese: It is my prayer that I’ll be an early retired special education teacher writing full-time. 

Disilgold: What marketing tips can you provide to new authors?

Latrese: Marketing is an on-going process. Authors should spend time daily promoting their work.

Disilgold: What other projects are you working on?

Latrese: My sophomore novel will be released in June 2008 with Q-Boro Books.  I am currently working on my third novel.

Disilgold: What are your top ten favorite books right now?

Latrese:A Piece of Cake, The Audacity of Hope, The Purpose Driven Church, The Preacher’s Son, Let the Church Say Amen, The Womanizers, Fly on the Wall, Afterburn, The Coldest Winter Ever, and True to the Game.

Disilgold: Great selections Latrese. The Audacity of Hope won the Book of the Year Award at the African American Pavilion Awards. When do you write and for how long?
Latrese:I try to write daily during the summer months and my goal is to complete one chapter a day.  So, I usually don’t stop writing until the chapter is completed.

Disilgold: Do you have a favorite location for writing?

Latrese:I usually write in my living room.

Disilgold: What method did you use to write or organize your book?

Latrese:I’m what some call a “plotter” which means I outline everything beforehand, therefore; I know what I need to accomplish in my chapters as I write.
 
Disilgold: What three words best describe your writing style?

Latrese:Contemporary, drama-filled and there’s some type of spiritually based message. (So much for three words, huh?)

Disilgold:Yeah! What other hobbies do you pursue when you aren’t writing?

Latrese:I am officially obsessed with technology and learning new computer applications.

Disilgold: Are there any hidden jewels or talents that you possess that many of your readers may not know?

Latrese:(Laughs)  Not that I am aware of.

Disilgold: Where can folks buy your latest book?

Latrese:My book is available in bookstores nationwide and online at Amazon.com, and Barnesnandnoble.com.

Disilgold: Where can folks meet you?

Latrese:I’ll be out and about this summer doing the Liar, Liar book tour. Readers can find my schedule on my website @ www.latresencarter.com/tour.htm

Disilgold: What have been some of your toughest obstacles as a writer?

Latrese: Staying focused on writing and trying not to allow people, circumstances and issues cause me to suffer writer’s block.
 
 
Disilgold: This section of our interview requires brief responses. Are you ready to” Get PerSOULnal” Interview?

The “Get PerSOULnal” Interview

Disilgold: What time do you awake normally every morning?

Latrese: During workdays, I am up at 5:50AM every morning.  On the weekend, I sleep a little longer.

Disilgold: What is your writing fuel in the morning?

Latrese: There is no fuel to write in the morning.  I only write at night. I’m a night owl. 

Disilgold: What early morning rituals have followed for many years?

Latrese:I wake up, pray, shower and leave for work.  I eat breakfast when I get to work.

Disilgold: What are your favorite foods to snack on while writing?

Latrese:I don’t snack while writing.  I’ve got to say focused.

Disilgold: Do you watch television or listen to the radio when you’re writing, and if so, what do you watch or listen too mostly?

Latrese: Television and radio are distracting. The only time the television can be on and not distract me as I write, is when my husband is watching baseball. I am so not interested in baseball.

Disilgold: What is your favorite book of all time?

Latrese:Besides, the Bible, I love The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah.  What a contrast?

Disilgold: What is your favorite magazine of all time?

Latrese:I enjoy reading Sister2Sister Magazine and CBS Soaps Magazine.

Disilgold: Do you have an exercise regimen to suggest for busy writers?

Latrese:I do everything at night.  If I could sleep all day and stay up all night, I would.  I really don’t have an exercise regimen, but I do I enjoy walking, so I walk in the evenings (during the spring and summer months) after the sun has gone down, but before dark.

Disilgold: What is your everyday outfit?

Latrese:I don’t have one.
 
Disilgold: What is your pet peeve?

Latrese:Hmmmm…can’t think of any at this time.

Disilgold: If you could inspire a child, what would you say?

Latrese:Trust in the Lord, believe in yourself, and follow your dreams!

Disilgold: What is your favorite motto?

Latrese:I can do ALL things through Christ who gives me strength.

Disilgold: What is your favorite time to put your writing pen down and rest?
 
Latrese:Between 3-6PM daily.

Disilgold: Have you traveled anywhere besides your hometown and if so, where? 

Latrese:Yes, I’ve traveled to Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, New York, and South Korea.

Disilgold: Where is your dream vacation?

Latrese:A week long cruise to anywhere. lol

Disilgold: What do you particularly like about the literary world today?

Latrese:I am honored with the number of African American authors who are in the industry today.  I also like so many great people such as authors whose books I have been reading for years. 

Disilgold: If you could leave one word of advice to people in general, what would it be?
Latrese:“Dare to live the life you have dreamed for yourself. Go forward and make your dreams come true.”
— RALPH WALDO EMERSON

Reflections from Founder: This Literary Diva is going places, focused and a very talented writer who will be around for a long time. LIAR, LIAR is the Next DisilgoldSOUL HIT! Buy it!

©Copyright 2001-2007. Disilgold. All Rights Reserved. 
Email-
Disilgold@aol.com
 

Latrese N. Carter
Author of Liar, Liar –In Stores Now!!
www.latresencarter.com
www.myspace.com/latresencarter
www.qborobooks.com


 

DISILGOLDSOUL MAGAZINE PRESENTS THE YGA AWARDS 2007
HOSTED BY THE LITERARY LEGENDS BALL ONLINE
WWW.DISILGOLD.COM

“The YOUnity Guild of America was established in 2003 by Disilgold “Publishing, Publicity, Media & Awards,” Home of the Disilgold Literary Network Association since 1999; to scout, induct,award, recognize, honor and celebrate the “best of the best” in over YGA 250 award categories.

Dubbed as
“the Black Pulitzer”with a Top Advisory Board of 100+ volunteer members who refer, vote and share insight of “Legend Infusionaries” on the rise based on notable reviews, once all entries are in by December 1st annually, the DLNA polls open for voting. Winners in categories such as BOOK, AUTHOR, BUSINESS, MEDIA & ENTERTAINER OF THE YEAR are announced on New Year’s Eve online and more winners ongoing on the www.Disilgold.com .

To register, please visit www.HeatherCovington.net for details or write to:

Heather Covington Publicity
P.O. BOX 652
Baychester Station
Bronx, NY 10469
1.718.547.0499

 

Leave a Reply

