DisilgoldSOUL 5 Star Review of Over Your Dead Body by David L.

 

Photo of David L.?

David L. is a rising black male author on the scene who has been creating quite a controversial buzz for a while as this mysterious urban thriller writer who can give Dean Koontz a run for his money in his latest hit, Over Your Dead Body! The critics are talking about his first edition that went out as arc galleys, but looked like the real thing I guess because there is nothing wrong with making a little money off  of your pre-publication excerpts and galleys if you can do it. Something happened quite miraculously  for David L. He’s become an urban street seller who is cornering a specific niche market that wants THRILLERS. If you’ve seen David L.’s new cover for his book, you may notice a man with his back turned, knife in hand and a lady who looks very familiar for some reason while laying dead on the grounds of a forest.  I think that’s a famous author model. In fact, I am sure!Where I am getting at is how this bone chilling cover is so on  point that if you are a black woman, you may feel like that lady on the ground is you! Okay, I said it! This book frightened me at first glance. I was like who dared to send me this book? Next thing I know, the guy who sent the book to Disilgold is not only the publisher, but standing right in front of me at a major event and attempting to introduce himself. I got goosebumps all over and looked for my bodyguards because for one, anyone who writes a book this morbid has got to have some kind of dark past, right? I am convinced that David L. is the character Preston Price whose wife Janelle, suspects he’s been cheating on her. I quickly dodge David L. and not to be rude, but he has this real eery look and doesn’t even smile in real life! I feel bad about this situation so I decide to read David L.’s book again without biased opinions. Nevermind that he’s a serious acting person, never smiles and quite mysterious. My goal is to review this book that folks are talking about with such critical praise, and has others ranting and raving over  his personality issues  so, that one may not be able to see the makings of a baby thriller writer.  As I flipped the pages of OVER YOUR DEAD BODY, I now visualized Preston Price as David L. Hey, thanks for the visual Preston. I GET IT NOW! You go boy! David L. has been role playing as Preston Price in real life. Okay, so he’s a nice guy who’s been taken for granted by his wife and was true to her, but here comes the friends of the friends of the family and all the little trouble makers who get all in their business and distrust begins to turn into reality. In fact, it’s sort of scary funny and bone-picking chilling as episodes erupt! You suspect the worse and it happens as Preston fights desperately to save his image that his wife has destroyed. All I have to say to the women out there, never ever accuse your man of cheating on you unless you have hardcore facts because what you wish for may become deadly true! I rated David L’s book a sizzling 5 Stars! Don’t want to give away spoilers! He’s a fascinating thriller writer like Brnadon Massey thus far! If this author can pen 10 more thrillers he’ll officially be a modern day thriller writer for keeps. For now, David is that wonder boy with a wicked pen! The funniest line you can look forward to when this book is converted into a movie for the big screen is,” You ungrateful bastard! I HATE YOU!” But–Guess who said it! Look for David L.’s debut on the

www.Disilgold.com.

He’s an author and publisher who holds a Bachelors Degree in Communications and Human Relations and a Masters Degree in Social Work with a concentration in clinical administration. David has authored several published articles relating to race relations; “How To” articles in becoming a self-published author. He also works with emotional and behavioral challenged youth. 

In the fall of 2004, he self -published his first novel – It’s Like Butter, Baby and became one of New York City’s best selling self publishers. His new release Over Your Dead Body, is set in present-day New York, written in character-specific dialogue to effectively capture the essence of its realism to urban America.  Visit his website, but please don’t tell this author I sent you. I still have major issues with his personality! www.totalpackagepublications.com

4 comments on “DisilgoldSOUL 5 Star Review of Over Your Dead Body by David L.

  1. I, for one, was very upset with David L. and continue to be…why? How could he end the book like that? WHAT?!!! You gotta be kiddin’ me!!!! You keep me on pins and needles, every page and when I think I figure it out, you throw the reader for a loop…then, the end? Come on!!! David L., rather than reading these comments, you better be writing the sequel!!! Good luck to you in everything that you put your mind to do…you are talented and blessed. One Love, Cyn!!!!

  2. Just read the review for the first time (I’ve been extremely busy!) David L. writes like no other author I’ve ever experienced and I cannot wait for his next novel to drop! Not only is he drop-dead gorgeous, he is polite, a gentleman, and professional. I met him at this year’s Harlem Book Fair and although there were like 15 people standing around his booth for signed copies of his book, he gave me 100% attention. You go David L.! Don’t forget about your fans out here in NYC when you make it big time!!

  3. THAT IS HIS TWIN! SEE NOW I HAVE TO BREAK THE NEWS! THERE IS DAVID L. AND HIS TWIN BROTHER IS “—–” L. I FIGURED THIS OUT WHEN I WENT TO AN EVENT AND UPON MEETING DAVID L. HE WAS SO NICE, THEN I TURNED AROUND AND THERE WAS THE MEAN ONE STANDING BY ANOTHER AUTHOR! I STAND BY MY STORY. THE OTHER TWIN IS TRYING TO WRITE BOOKS TOO, BUT HE CAN’T WRITE AS WELL AS DAVID L. AND IS EXTREMELY JEALOUS OF HIS BROTHER. THE PHOTO OF DAVID ON HIS SITE IS NOT HIM. LOOK CAREFULLY. THE ONE ON THE FRONT PAGE IS DAVID. SEE THE DIFFERENCE? I DO AGREE THAT HE’S AN OUTSTANDING AUTHOR, BUT I HAVE TO MAKE SURE I STAY CLEAR OF HIS JEALOUS TWIN. SEE THE PHOTO ON TOP OF THIS STORY, THIS IS DAVID’S BROTHER! HE WON’T COME FORWARD BECAUSE HE IS HIDING THIS SECRET. DAVID L. PUT HIS BROTHER ON THERE TO GIVE HIM A CHANCE TO SHINE! I BET WHEN DAVID IS HONORED SOON, HIS TWIN BROTHER WILL SHOW UP!(GIGGLES)

  4. I read David L.’s book last week and your review is on point. He is definitely “the man” right now and his writing skills are nothing quite like anything I have ever seen in my young life! His book came to life so vividly that I actually had to sleep with the lights on. It was like I was in a real life movie from the time I began reading. I had the pleasure of meeting David L. at a book signing in Rockland County and he was actually very sweet and humble…not quite how you had him described. He smiled alot (he has a mesmerizing smile) and he left me with goosebumps as I left. You go David L.!!

Leave a Reply

