Does Bill Cosby Have the Right to Give Young Children Advice? The Most Revealing Article about Bill Cosby Ever! by Heather Covington

12979760 

Bill Cosby may very well be one of the most respected African-American men in black history of this decade from the comedy world, and to date despite his infidelity in his marriage to his beautiful wife Camille Cosby who forgave him and why not (Bill is marriage material). Don’t forget that he was a victim of a shocking money scam by an estranged daughter, the rise and fall and rise again of clean comedy thanks to NAACP’s petition against the N-word that sent dirty mouthed comedians running except Ed Lover I guess,  and his “whoop ass comments” that challenge scholars like Michael Eric Dyson with feedback in the form of 300 page books. Bill really knows how to get under people’s skin, but I can’t be harsh to him because I remember his show with the kids that was like a Candid Camera episode. His comedy won me over back then. He’s a natural and I get his jokes. Maybe it’s because I am intelligent as Bill claims are the only people who get his jokes. Bill Cosby has been a controversial topic for a long time, but recently went over the edge when he denounced Black English if I may say, shared by your surburban youth and even white country  folk. It’s no secret that millions of people have flunked basic English thanks to underpaid teachers who simply didn’t care enough to teach proper grammar. To a degree I have sided with Bill Cosby on some issues because he tells it like it is, but we can’t fault ignorance in black youth turned black adults who never got a good education and I am sorry to say also, didn’t grow up with silver spoons in their mouths  like those cute kids on the Cosby Show or to be politically correct,  those “ice grills”.

Let me school you on how successful Bill Cosby’s Show has been to the kingof clean comedy. The show is syndicated with repeated episodes in a lot of countries. That little Raven Simone, an actress on the show, and who I saw appear FIRST on “Like It Is” with Gil Noble as a fledgling singer, is the 300 million dollar Cheetah girl. Your talking about endorsements for are your ready, jr.-teen lipstick, journals, back packs, pencils, clothing, bedding, curtains and the list goes on and on. Raven is a franchise and not your perfect little princess which is why the girls love their idol. Felicia Rashad, who played Claire Huxtable or Bill Cosby’s wife, debuted in the play re-make of Raisin in the Sun with Diddy and nabbed herself a Tony nomination, and Lisa Bonet’s cult classic, “Angel Heart” grossed so well that video rentals keep this lady loaded and maybe money from Romeo Blue, the son of the late  bi-racial couple from “The Jefferson’s”. (THE STAR FO THE SHOWNEVER GOT ANY MEDIA ATTENTION!)  The formula worked because she was like the tv vixen no one knew instead of in folks face being trashy. Her nude scene in Angel Heart, the movie, shocked everyone.Now I am just throwing things at you. Who knows how the former staff of the former Cosby Show are living,but it seems like there haven’t been any complaints.

So now here comes Bill Cosby like a saint on The Oprah Winfrey Show today giving advice.

(AND Y’ALL BETTER NOT BOTHER OPRAH WITH THIS RECENT COCAINE USE NONSENSE! JUST LEAVE HER ALONE! SHE WAS A NAIVE LADY WHO GOT WITH A MAN WHO WAS FROM THAT DARK WORLD, AND IF YOU SAW THE ORIGINAL MOVIE SPARKLE  STARRING IRENE CARA, THAT’S WHAT THOSE SHIESTY MEN TRIED TO DO TO TRAP WOMEN IN RELATIONSHIPS WITH THEIR TIRED,BROKE DOWN UGLY ASS SELVES, BUT OPRAH WAS SMART! YOU MESS WITH THIS SAINT YOU WILL HAVE BAD LUCK!)

Sorry, got classically side tracked! Where was I?

Oh…

I did my best to just respect Mr. Cosby’s past, but this side of me that remembered his appearance in over 35 years at the Apollo recently, and if I may be specific, it was a show on the same weekend of Richard Pryor’s death, just reminded me of just how tempermental Bill Cosby is. I know the real Cosby from that return to the Apollo. Nevermind that nice write up in the Amsterdam News. I know what I witnessed. Brace yourself!

Now you have never ever heard this shocking news anywhere, and you know I only report FACTS so here it goes. The audience and media were told to not take photos of Bill during his performance. I was very polite and respectful because you know, that’s Bill Cosby. But- then he did his Jello Pudding impersonation of himself in the commercials. My hand twitched. Then he did that 5 minute classic joke that grows funnier as he nears the end until you roll over with humor during his famous punchlines. My finger wiggled. And would you believe he did that off -your- seat joke with is legs up in the air. That’s when my hand took over and snapped the picture. I was like forget being respectful. That’s Bill up there, the man I grew up watching on tv and the Jello Pudding guy and that endearing soul on that Candid Camera like show.Forget that, I am making history as the only person who got a photo of Bill Cosby “on the chair that Bill sat” and later on placed a poster in homage to the late Richard Pryor on that chair and carried on  silent condolences with a moment of prayer”off record” to pay his fellow comedian much respect. NO ONE REPORTED THIS BECAUSE…. everyone was gone. I remained at the empty Apollo that had just re-opened with Bill as the mascott with new renovation.

 Richard  Pryor may have been his only rival (RIP) and much respect to his daughter Rain Pryor, but his curse antics helped win over fans for Bill Cosby too, so it was like friendly respectful fire. I found out how much respect Bill had for Richard. Would 50 Cent or the Game pay each other respect with that kindof class if god forbid anyone of them died before the other? Where I’m getting at is the epitome of class and sheer grace Bill Cosby represents as just a human being in show business. Anything bad about Bill was now erased.

So getting back to the story and the big change in Bill’s demeanor on his first night back at the Apollo. All was going great when Bill ordered the lights be turned on and requested that the person who took the photo reveal themselves and stand up… and give up their camera and evacuate the show or he would not continue….(like my run on sentences? Are you catching the dramatics?)

Bill even came down to the audience and personally interrogated a tourist who balled with laughter mixed with tears because she was so happy to be accused. These folks from other countries idolize icons like Bill Cosby whom they see on tv.The whole scene brought laughter and warm-heartedness, but I was burrowed in my chair trying to pretend I wasn’t media and totally innocent of snapping the photo. The photo of Bill at the Apollo theater for the first time in 35 years is in my possession and no one is ever getting it. So that’s it. I have a rare photo and the lesson I learned is “DON’T MESS WITH THE KID!” That’s Bill Cosby. You have to respect a man who has house lights turned on to demand his rights and on that note, “Yes, Bill does have the right to give advice to the kids and they had better listen up.” No man is perfect in media or Hollywood or goes unscathed by press and BAD MEDIA, but one thing, they can’t take away your greatness when you are a great person. And even I have to give props and say, Bill Cosby is a great man. You can check him out in this new book I just completed called Literary Dons next spring. I think I am going to make some Jello Pudding. I guess anyone who reads this article about Bill Cosby will do the same. www.Disilgold.com. www.myspace.com/HeatherCovington

P.S. For the past 10 years, society has diminished the power and influence of the African American hero. It’s time for more Bill Cosby’s to surface before it is too late. Black Kids need real black male role models before it is too late. I say Cosby train a few good men and let’s get this show back on the road!

By prqueen Posted in Uncategorized Tagged

Leave a Reply

