www.Disilgold.com- HEATLIST- Celebrating the Life of Friend Lloyd Hart, Jr.

Celebrating the life of our friend Lloyd Hart Jr

Celebrating the Life and Mourning the Passing of Lloyd Hart Jr

Co-founder & Owner, The Black Library Bookseller

March 20, 2008


http://rs6.net/tn.jsp?e=0012t9Nm6mXIZvcJyCatXb91IJvZgKRrnWGUtH-J6APlxwT9rHdar7aT_LFh44APVagMNe6Jm6rcONgS3tKOf_0Krieev2SpxittATSJtRM9jaSDJeXKLi4DCaMgiI70d5fLloyd was a incredible person who will always be remembered and missed. The literary world is losing an irreplaceable soldier and a true friend.  Lloyd supported and helped so many African American authors stage their voice to an audience.  He wasn’t just the co-founder and owner of The Black Library Booksellers, but a pioneer in the Urban Book movement that bridged the gap between traditionally published authors, small press and under promoted self published authors.  His down to earth spirit and hard work ethic made him a gem in the literary industry. 

When I first met Lloyd 4 years ago after contacting him to do a booksigning at the Black Library Booksellers, he helped me carry and unload my books to sell that day.  He knew I was shy and green when it came to promoting, so he grabbed customers for me and would say, “Did you meet Nishawnda, she is a talented local author signing her books today.”  From then on, I not only built a business relationship with  Lloyd but I came to call him my friend.  He later would help me contact authors for the Boston Book Bazaar, introduced me to Carl Weber and was the Bookseller vendor for the Boston Book Bazaar every year.  That is how I will remember him, always supportive, always down for a sistah, always unselfish and kind. 

The literary community has lost a great man.  And I will miss him dearly.
Sincerely,

Nishawnda Ellis
Author of Wives and Girlfriends and Love Me Not
 

Celebration Of Life Service

Lloyd E. Hart jr.

Morning Star Baptist Church

1257 Blue Hill Avenue

Mattapan, Massachusetts 02126

Friday, March 28, 2008

Wake: 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Funeral service: 11:00 a.m.

Reverend Dr. John M. Borders III, Officiating

In lieu of flowers, please make a donation for the benefit of Lloyd E. Hart jr.    

Members Plus Credit Union

acc# 3400100319

 

Members Plus Credit Union locations

1165 Massachusetts Ave         494 Gallivan Blvd.            111 South street

Dorchester, Ma 02125           Dorchester, Ma 02124        Somerville, Ma 02143

By prqueen Posted in R.I.P.

2 comments on “www.Disilgold.com- HEATLIST- Celebrating the Life of Friend Lloyd Hart, Jr.

  1. Thanks Ms. Knowles for sharing this personal information. I am rarely able to check messages here, but I am checking in more often. I received over a dozen emails to http://www.Disilgold.com as well from people in awe of his contributions to the literary world. He will be missed. Please have your book club members share their stories as well for our archives. This post received the most views today which shows the support for The BlackLibrary.com was overwhelming. Thanks again.

  2. I too am at a loss with Mr. Hart! I had the good fortune to know him for almost ten years. He came a couple of times to Simmons College to sell black books and then we developed a relationship where he would deliver the specific titles to me for my book club. He always a was down to earth brother and helpful friend. When he could provide me with a title, he would find me alternative. I really appreciate all that he did for me as a librarian and literacy advocate. I will miss him dearly.

Leave a Reply

